As of Jan. 1, Hawaii has become the first state to make all tobacco products, including vaping products, illegal to those under 21. Signs legally must be posted in stores where products are sold that say, “The sale of tobacco products or electronic smoking devices to persons under twenty-one is prohibited.”
According to KHON2.com, an additional law went into effect in 2016 in Hawaii, which dictates where people can vape. Vaping will now be treated like analog smoking, prohibited anywhere smoking isn’t allowed.
Anyone under 21 caught trying to buy e-cigs or tobacco products could be fined $10 for the first offense. ”Retailers caught selling to those under 21 will face a $500 fine for the first offense, and fines will increase for multiple violations,” according to KHON2.
Reasons cited for the new law include reducing tobacco use among youth, and KHON2 reports that 86 percent of Hawaiian adult smokers began smoking before they reached 21.
For the full story, visit http://khon2.com/2015/12/28/new-years-day-tobacco-ecig-laws-hawaii-first-state-to-raise-legal-age-to-21-3/.